THE biggest names in darts will visit Melbourne in 2019 as the Melbourne Arena hosts one of Australia's World Series of Darts events.

The Melbourne Darts Masters will take place on August 16-17, as eight of the world's best players line up against eight Oceanic qualifiers in the two-day tournament.

Thousands of fans in fancy dress are set to flock to Melbourne Arena for Australia’s biggest darts party, with the event getting underway on Friday August 9 with the eight first round ties, as the PDC stars face the Oceanic representatives.

Saturday August 17 will see the conclusion of the tournament with the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final in one bumper session of action.

Reigning World Champion Michael van Gerwen, fans' favourite Peter Wright and two-time World Champion Gary Anderson are set to feature, with the competitors to be confirmed in early 2019.

"The growth of darts continues in Australia and we are excited to be returning to Melbourne for a third consecutive year," said PDC Chief Executive Matthew Porter.

“Australia always produces an electric atmosphere at World Series of Darts events, and this is another great chance for sports fans to be part of the unique live experience of top-class darts."

2019 Melbourne Darts Masters

Melbourne Arena

Friday August 16

8x First Round

Saturday August 17

Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals & Final



2019 Melbourne Darts Masters

Friday 16 August & Saturday 17 August